Prompt #7 : Limits

We often learn about our limits the hard way. Were there any limits you realized this past year? Alternately, what self-imposed limits were you able to move beyond this year?

More physical.. like I love to take walks, but I really need to be more careful about slipping and tripping and falling because my right leg really shouldn’t take any more injuries, otherwise I’ll tear up my ligaments and tendons around my knee and ankle. They are getting stronger, and I have been able to push myself a bit with the steepness of what I can walk, but it will never be perfect.

I also need to take care to get enough sleep particularly when I am stressed. This helps to prevent me from getting sick.

I have been letting work overwhelm me. I need to take time for myself, and just read, or write, or create something, alone. I am an introvert, and I tend to use myself up while teaching, and then just veg brainlessly. Vegging doesn’t recharge me.

Self imposed limits.. I continue to push beyond those emotional and mental limits that I self-impose, thanks to early programming in a dysfunctional family. I have gone well beyond what I thought I had courage to do and here I am, happy and thriving, in love and free to be me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal Prompts

Leave a Reply

